HAIL THE KING

John 17:4&5                       “I glorified you on earth By completing down to the last detail What you assigned me to do. And now, Father, glorify me with your very own splendor, The very splendor I had in your presence Before there was a world.”


 Jesus had to go back to Heaven for us. To intercede on our behalf and send down the Holy Spirit that we might be joint heirs with Him of God’s Kingdom. It’s a work thing; we get that, but did Christ want to go back?

Oh yes! As much as He loved us, He loved and missed His Father more. See how eager He was to return (John 16:28, John 13:1&3)

“Jesus said, “Don’t cling to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father. Go to my brothers and tell them, ‘I ascend to my Father and your Father, my God and your God.’””

John 20:17 

Can you imagine what the reunion of God with His only begotten Son was like? I can’t, I can only hope for a fraction of that when it’s my turn to go to the Father. I know it will be joyous because Christ went ahead to make it so

“My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

John 14:2-3 NIV

Christ’s ascension was so much more than just a reunion; it was also the inauguration of God’s Kingdom, the coronation of Christ as King! Daniel foretold this

““In my vision at night I looked, and there before me was one like a son of man, coming with the clouds of heaven. He approached the Ancient of Days and was led into his presence. He was given authority, glory and sovereign power; all nations and peoples of every language worshiped him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that will not pass away, and his kingdom is one that will never be destroyed.”

Daniel 7:13-14 NIV

And it’s confirmed in the New Testament (Acts 1:9-11, Acts 7:56, Revelations 3:21, Revelations 5:6-13) This isn’t a temporary position, there is no danger of a coup or overthrow (Satan has been squarely dealt with remember?) Christ reigns eternal (Psalm 110:1, Acts 2:34&35, 1 Corinthians 15:25, Hebrews 1:13)

We have an eternal home with the Almighty everlasting King – beautiful! The Kingdom is not without justice though. Christ is both King and Judge and He will return to take His people home.

Think About This 
Are you going to an eternal home with a loving and everlasting King or are you facing the wrath of a disappointed Judge?

Prayer 

Dear Lord, May I be ready when You come. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Leave a comment