I HEAR

Habakkuk 3:1-2.              “A prayer of the prophet Habakkuk, with orchestra: GOD, I’ve heard what our ancestors say about you, and I’m stopped in my tracks, down on my knees. Do among us what you did among them. Work among us as you worked among them. And as you bring judgment, as you surely must, remember mercy.”

A lot of people would have difficulty identifying with today’s verse because it involves something we rarely do; listening. It’s easier to voice out our complaints than to give ear to what another has to say.

Habakkuk was listening and so he heard of a way to freedom, he heard of a way to healing, he heard of a way to salvation and he wanted it. Imagine Habakkuk was too busy whining to hear the testimony of others; would he have known God’s mercy?

It is no coincidence that Habakkuk is three chapters short. Two chapters are full of complaints, whining and grumbles. It then Habakkuk heard of the Lord’s goodness, he heard that God was mighty to save, he heard that if you ask God he would do exceedingly, abundantly, more than you are able to imagine! The third chapter was a testimonial prayer. The book ends after that. Not that it was a happily ever after ending but with God in the mix Habakkuk knew he had no more cause to fret.

Think About This 
What are you hearing; how is it affecting you? What are others hearing from you; how is that impacting them?

Prayer 

Dear Lord, I have heard the testimony of others, please give me my own. Use me for your glory. Even as You are just Lord teach me to be merciful. In Jesus name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

