A THANKLESS JOB

2 Kings 5:1-3                         “Naaman was general of the army under the king of Aram. He was important to his master, who held him in the highest esteem because it was by him that GOD had given victory to Aram: a truly great man, but afflicted with a grievous skin disease. It so happened that Aram, on one of its raiding expeditions against Israel, captured a young girl who became a maid to Naaman’s wife. One day she said to her mistress, “Oh, if only my master could meet the prophet of Samaria, he would be healed of his skin disease.””

It took a lot for this young girl to speak up. These were the people who had raided, pillaged and ravaged her home. They had torn her away from her family and forced her into servitude. She had a lot to be bitter about, but chose instead to serve with her whole heart; why else would she be filled with compassion at her master’s plight?

She must have been good at her job enough for her mistress to trust and listen to her and then pass the information on to Naaman as credible and important? Did the servant girl get anything for her troubles? No. Expensive gifts and a lot of money was offered Elisha even though he turned it down. We don’t even know her name! Gehazi, the greedy corrupt steward received payment in Elisha’s name and payment for his sins and was given a name mention. When the story is told in song most people only sing; “…..and his name was Naaman….”

A thankless job indeed! Do you think she was hoping for recognition? Perhaps an elevation of her circumstances, a gift of appreciation, a simple thank you? I think she knew the best she could hope for was that the information reach Naaman, and yet she did it anyway because it was what God expected of her. How many times haven’t we been reluctant to do something or flat out refused because we wouldn’t get credit? Even when we work we do so grudgingly. We need to remember it’s not about us, but about God. Do you think Naaman would have declared there is no other God than the God of Israel if this little servant girl and then Elisha had not done their jobs with clean hearts and hands?

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,”

Colossians 3:23 NIV

Think About This 

Check your heart when you have work to do. Is it fit for God?

Prayer 

Dear Lord, I whine and complain and grumble even when I know I will be appreciated for my efforts, I am bitter when I think others fail to recognize my worth. I forget that all I do is for You and no one else. Please help me to develop the open heart attitude of the servant girl that I may do what is required and more willingly, give me Elisha’s heart that my focus may be on You, O Lord. Keep my eyes fixed on our perfect example, Your Son Jesus; the most unappreciated Servant of all. It is in His name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

