THE GODLY FATHER; 5

Proverbs 3:11&12                                  “But don’t, dear friend, resent GOD ’s discipline; don’t sulk under his loving correction. It’s the child he loves that GOD corrects; a father’s delight is behind all this.”


When I was expecting my first child I read something in a book that took me aback. The author said making your child happy was not one of the functions of parenting. Making your child healthy (physically, mentally, emotionally, financially etc) was. I was sure the author was wrong until I had Baby and realized I sometimes had to correct behavior; it didn’t make Baby happy, but it shaped Baby’s character and kept her safe.

It’s hard to enjoy correction. I can’t think of anyone who likes it! Whether it’s a toddler who must learn the difference between food and potential poison or an adult who is coming to terms with the nuances of ethical behaviour, the correction process is unpleasant.

As unpleasant as correction may be it is necessary for growth. Imagine a tomato plant with a weak stem; it needs extra support to grow straight otherwise any fruit it bears spoils before it is even fully formed. 

Correction is such an unpleasant duty that adults sometimes pass the buck but today’s verse tells us the buck stops with the Godly father. God is described as our father so we may better understand our relationship with Him. We see the parallels between our relationship with our earthly parents and the Almighty. God corrects us in love for our benefit all the time. Our fathers try to do same.

Think About This 

Grab a drink and read this incredible sermon; ‘Care Enough To Correct‘ by Tim Pollock. https://www.sermoncentral.com/sermons/care-enough-to-correct-tim-pollock-sermon-on-parenting-201985?page=1

Prayer 

Dear Lord, Forgive my foolishness and straighten my path. Help me accept correction wherever it may come from especially from my earthly father. In Jesus name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

