WANTS, NEEDS AND DESIRES; 2

1 John 2:17.                      “The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity.”

Everything in this world tells you to want more. The world tells you that you must have a phone or laptop or car and when you get one it insists you get a better one. The world tells you that slim is the new phat so you lose weight only for them to tell you that big is best. You go to school and get a degree, but you have to push for a Masters if you want to make it and then it’s only natural to want a doctorate too. The one thing the world doesn’t encourage you to want more of is Christ.

Is it wrong to want things? No, it’s not. But wanting things should not be the focus of our lives. When we are consumed with the many or single things we want, we forget God and His ways. We are eager to do whatever it takes to get what we want and then we are determined to do whatever it takes to keep what we want. We don’t even care whether it’s in God’s will or not. This is why people take bribes, lie, kill each other. They have allowed want to control them.

The book of Proverbs finds a nice want balance for this life;
““Two things I ask of you, LORD; do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the LORD?’ Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.”

Proverbs 30:7-9 NIV

God has made it clear several times over that He will provide all our needs. The Bible also makes it abundantly clear that God is not averse to giving us our desires so why should we be so hung up on wants?

Think About This 
Why do I want it? Does God want me to have it? Do I trust God to give it to me?

Prayer 

Dear Lord, Let me want none other than You. In Jesus name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

