MIND YOUR OWN BEESWAX 

John 21:22-23.              “Jesus said, “If I want him to live until I come again, what’s that to you? You—follow me.” That is how the rumor got out among the brothers that this disciple wouldn’t die. But that is not what Jesus said. He simply said, “If I want him to live until I come again, what’s that to you?””

Christ calls us unto Himself. When Christ called the disciples it was an individual call; even when they were together, they were called separately. It’s still His MO; Christ calls us all individually to follow Him. We are not called as a denomination, family, church group or even as a couple. You have been called as you! Christ asks that you take up your cross and follow Him (Matthew 16:24

All though we are all on this Christian walk together we each run a different race. Paul didn’t admonish us to pass the other person or even to stop help another run. We are told to throw off every weight (Hebrews 12:1) and fix our eyes on Jesus (Hebrews 12:2, Proverbs 4:25)so that we might finish well (Philippians 3:14, Galatians 5:7, 1 Corinthians 9:24). Bible encourages us to work on our own salvation (Philippians 2:12) The prize is given to him that overcomes not to the team that overcomes (Revelations 3:21)


This is not to say we are to be selfish and refuse assistance to others. Do things that help others is part of our calling. As humans though we get so easily distracted by another’s activities. She sings better than I do, he’s closer to Pastor than I am, when she prays God answers quickly, he always falls under the Anointing and I’ve never even felt a tickle! These distractions hinder our walk. They would have hindered Peters walk if the Lord had not chastised him; Peter was starting to focus on the disciple Jesus loved and not Jesus Himself. “What is it to you?”, the Lord asked.


Jesus will not judge me according to my superiority or inferiority over anybody. No preacher. No church. No ministry. These are not the standard. Jesus has a work for me to do (and a different one for you). It is not what he has given anyone else to do. There is a grace to do it. Will I trust him for that grace and do what he has given me to do? 

John Piper

http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/what-is-that-to-you-you-follow-me

Think About This 

Who is the focus of your race; another Christian, yourself, or Christ the Lord?


Prayer

Dear Lord, Help me fix my eyes on You and You alone. When I am tempted to concern myself with others let me hear You ask; “What is it to you?” In Jesus name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

