DO YOU LOVE ME

John 21:15-17.                “After breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” “Yes, Master, you know I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.” He then asked a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” “Yes, Master, you know I love you.” Jesus said, “Shepherd my sheep.” Then he said it a third time: “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was upset that he asked for the third time, “Do you love me?” so he answered, “Master, you know everything there is to know. You’ve got to know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep. ””

Love in action is what Peter was being called to. It is what we are all being called to. One might wonder why Peter; after all he did deny Jesus when it was most critical. Jesus doesn’t bear grudges; He bore the cross of forgiveness. In asking Peter “Do you love me” 3 times, He was giving Peter the opportunity to atone for his denial. Based on Peter’s repentant responses, Jesus went further and commissioned him with emphasis and specific direction.

In his repentance, Jesus calls Peter into specific ministry. A sorrowful and repentant heart towards one’s own one sin and a profession and trust in the Almighty God and Savior, Jesus Christ to forgive, save, and reconcile will produce a Heart that will TRUST and OBEY the SAVIOR. (That actually becomes the theme of 1 Peter in the NT.) Peter was the flamboyant fisherman, not an educated theologian. He was CALLED and appointed by Jesus to become a pastor and preacher who would train tend, feed and care for, and equip those of the 1st century church whom God had called into fellowship through the Gospel to serve HIM, and so that THEY would be fishers of men. This appearing by Jesus on the Beach shows that the mission assigned to the disciples did not end with His death and resurrection, but it was only beginning.

Ron Tuit

https://www.sermoncentral.com/sermons/from-fish-to-sheep-ron-tuit-sermon-on-peters-restoration-185442?page=3
God wants to use you, but He needs your repentant heart.

Think About This 

Can God use you in the state you are in?

Have you sought forgiveness at the cross?

Do you love the Lord? Prove it.

Prayer 
Dear Lord, I repent of every time I denied You by my actions. May I demonstrate my love for in action and not just words. In Jesus name I pray. Amen 

Leave a Reply

