CROSSWORDS; 5

John 19:28.     “Jesus, seeing that everything had been completed so that the Scripture record might also be complete, then said, “I’m thirsty.””

Who could blame Him? After everything He had been through; the trials, beatings, long walk with the cross on His back, crucifixion and Spiritual distress, it was only natural that He should thirst. Besides He had been hanging on the cross since mid-morning and it was fast approaching evening. Of course He was thirsty. What was He thirsty for?

Today’s verse seems self-explanatory; Christ declared His thirst so that Scripture might be fulfilled. The birth, mission and death of the Messiah had been foretold for thousands of years before Christ appeared. These signs were so people could identify Him when He came. Every single one of the 332 Old Testament prophecies had been fulfilled except one; Psalm 69:21.   When that Scripture had been fulfilled then the Messiah’s mission was completed and man had been redeemed.


But why would the Messiah thirst? Wasn’t He the living water?

Jesus had told the woman at the well, that the Holy Spirit of God was the living water (John 7:39), whom he could pour into her life so that she would never thirst again (John 4:13-14). Now he himself was thirsty. Was it because his own Holy Spirit could not be with him in his earthly form for he had become sin (2 Corinthians 5:21)? He expressed that he was forsaken by God, and he cried out My God, My God, why have you forsaken me? Was the first address of My God, to God the Father and the second address of my God, to God the Holy Spirit – both the personas of God who were not with Christ Jesus (God the Son). I can only imagine. The more I pondered, the more I realized that Jesus’ thirst is likely for his own Holy Spirit – so that he would never have to thirst again. We know that his Holy Spirit responded to his yearning cry, for Jesus’ last act on the Cross was to commend his Holy Spirit into the Holy hands of God the Father.

Mano Paul

https://thepauls.wordpress.com/2015/03/31/i-thirst-3/#comments

What I wouldn’t give to trade places with the soldier who gave Him a drink. I would be gentle and caring about it. When you think about it though we actually do have that opportunity everyday; Jesus said ‘I’m telling the solemn truth: Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me—you did it to me.’”

Matthew 25:40 

Think About This 

Where is there an opportunity to serve the Lord?

Prayer 

Dear Lord, Help me to see in practical terms what Your death means to me. Teach me to recognize and take the opportunities to serve You that come my way. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

