VIA DOLOROSA; Step 12

John 19:30        “After he took the wine, Jesus said, “It’s done . . . complete.” Bowing his head, he offered up his spirit.”

Jesus died. I know some people try to dispute it but there is no denying the truth; Christ was crucified, He died and was buried. There are mountains of medical and historical records that give evidence to that.

Some people say the Jews killed Jesus other hold the Romans accountable. But it wasn’t a case of man making it happen; Scripture shows a clear path the fall of man to the death of Christ. There were prophecies and most importantly there was Christ’s decision to die (John 10:18).  He had the power to end His distress at any given point but He chose not to use it. He suffered through right to the end when He finally called it done and gave up the ghost.


Why would Christ do that though? Why would He chose to die? He died that all men would be brought to Salvation. I love that! It wasn’t for the Twelve, it wasn’t for the righteous, it wasn’t even for the House of Israel. It was for all mankind including (nope, scratch that), especially for His enemies; those who tried to kill Him, those who didn’t believe Him and even for those who simply didn’t care that He died.


That wasn’t the only reason Christ died. Christ died so that I wouldn’t have to, so that you wouldn’t have to. Bible clearly states that the wages of sin is death, who else is expected to pay this wages but the sinner and yet Jesus stepped in and picked up the cheque. You and I are the reason it was such a horrible process. You and I are the reason Jesus was disconnected from the Father with whom He is One. You and I are the reason Jesus died; so we wouldn’t have to

We’ll talk more about Christ actually dying come Passion Week

Think About This 

Christ actually died for the Salvation of all mankind so we wouldn’t have to suffer the death penalty for our sins. Why would He do that? Go back and read Christ’s prayer in the garden of Gethsemane 

Prayer 

Dear Lord, I do not have the words to say how truly grateful I am that you died for me instead of me. Please help me show my gratitude in my everyday life. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

