VIA DOLOROSA; Step 2

Matthew 26:36-41 “Then Jesus went with them to a garden called Gethsemane and told his disciples, “Stay here while I go over there and pray.” Taking along Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he plunged into an agonizing sorrow. Then he said, “This sorrow is crushing my life out. Stay here and keep vigil with me.”
Going a little ahead, he fell on his face, praying, “My Father, if there is any way, get me out of this. But please, not what I want. You, what do you want?” When he came back to his disciples, he found them sound asleep. He said to Peter, “Can’t you stick it out with me a single hour? Stay alert; be in prayer so you don’t wander into temptation without even knowing you’re in danger. There is a part of you that is eager, ready for anything in God. But there’s another part that’s as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.””

There have been times I’ve felt like sorrow was crushing the life out of me. Sometimes I just stay in that situation because I feel like I deserve it; sinner that I am. Sometimes I try to get out from under that dark cloud myself; it never works. It’s only when I reach out to God that I find succor. 

That’s what Christ did in the Garden of Gethsemane; He reached out to His Father for solace. The only way to do that was by submitting His will to God’s. Christ had done no wrong and He could so very easily have walked away from the situation but He chose not to. Instead He surrendered His will to God; He chose to do what God wanted and not what He wanted. He chose to go through with it even when His support system failed Him. He had passed through the temptation of yielding His will, but the challenge still remained as is often the case in our own lives. 

                  
Turning to God doesn’t take the test away, unless that is His specific will for you. Turning to God gives you the grace to get through that test, despite the obstacles, and results in a glorious testimony.

          

Think About This 

Do you give up after God has given you the grace to continue? That’s usually when it’s hardest. Try pushing on till the testimony.

Prayer 

Dear Lord, We thank you for the gift of Grace. Help us to recognize it when You give it, that we may hold on to it in hope of a testimony to Your glory. In Jesus name We pray. Amen
NB: Surrendering your will isn’t as easy as saying so. We’ll look at that more closely later but this stuck with me;

“There is a part of you that is eager, ready for anything in God. But there’s another part that’s as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.”

Leave a Reply

