PINT SIZED PREACHERS

Isaiah 53:5. But it was our sins that did that to him, that ripped and tore and crushed him— our sins! He took the punishment, and that made us whole. Through his bruises we get healed. Mummy stood by the door and watched the children as they flipped the pages of the children’s Bible. They would go to the end but always come back to the picture of the crucifixion. She heard Yaw telling his sisters what it meant, she heard the obvious distress in his voice as he realized the pain and suffering Christ had been through and how he; Yaw, was connected. His big sister assured him it was all part of God’s plan to make sure they got into Heaven to see God. Mummy smiled, impressed by their knowledge and understanding of scripture. She turned to walk away when the youngest piped up and blew her away with amazing hope and confidence in the resurrection! She was only 3, but Ewurakua had perfectly articulated a gospel Mummy had struggled to understand only a year before. No wonder the Bible said to have childlike faith!

                        
Lent is an extremely emotional period. The passion and it’s build up alone is enough to push one into a depressed state; brooding over one’s part in it all. But God is a merciful God who will not leave His children in darkness. This season also gives us the hope and assurance of the resurrection; both Christ’s and ours. 

Because Christ died and rose again our sinful natures can die and a new man be born. When the Bible says He was pierced for our transgressions, I take it literally and it brings home the reality of the impact of my sins to me. Yet I find a strange comfort in knowing that I have peace because He took my punishment and made me whole by being wounded. I know it might sound perverse and even morbid to some, but this is what binds me to Christ; His immense sacrifice for me.


Think About This
What gives you a deeper understanding of the relationship Christ offers you? What one thing bonds you to Christ?

                  

Prayer

Dear Lord,

Never let me forget Your sacrifice and it’s import. Let it make a difference in my life that will reflect in all I do. In Jesus name I pray. Amen 

2 thoughts on “PINT SIZED PREACHERS

Leave a Reply

