LEAD ME TO THE ROCK

 Psalm 61:2.      A David Psalm God, listen to me shout, bend an ear to my prayer. When I’m far from anywhere, down to my last gasp, I call out, “Guide me up High Rock Mountain!”

A friend checked in on me, curious as to where Little Treasures had gone. As I confessed to having been overwhelmed lately, my mind was drawn to today’s scripture. I realized sometimes I didn’t feel like going to the rock or I just couldn’t be bothered, but saying that verse as a prayer to an answering God, made sure I got there; sometimes kicking and screaming. 

From the end of the earth I call to You, when my heart is overwhelmed andweak; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I [a rock that is too high to reach without Your help]. 

Amplified Bible

The Rock that is higher than I. That phrase alone speaks loudly to me as a sermon. Christ is my solid rock. That Rock is a shelter from the storms of life and a stronghold from my enemies. God is my shelter and an ever present stronghold in my time of trouble. That Rock is my shade and shield. God is my shield, shade and the lifter of my head. Of whom shall I be afraid? He that is in me is greater than he that is in the world. If I can run to the one who can calm the wind and the seas with but a word why should I remain cowed and overwhelmed?

Think About This

Where do you turn when your heart is overwhelmed? Do you need help getting there?

Prayer

Dear Lord, When my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the Rock that higher than I. In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

