THINGS THAT GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT

Psalm 23:4          Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid
when you walk at my side.  Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure.

 

Junior’s eyes widened with terror, there were strange creepy noises sounding in the silence of the night. He gasped as something shadowy caught his eye.  He wanted to cry but he couldn’t; eight year old boys were big boys and that meant being brave.  A single slice of moonlight peered through the curtains at the open window, falling on the cross Junior had made in Sunday School last week.  He heaved a huge sigh of relief as he remembered that God was always there for him and would never leave him.  With a smile on his face, Junior turned over and slept.
monsters-under-the-bed

That same promise of protection and comfort are yours too; if you want it.  It’s not just for dark scary nights but through all of life’s ups and downs.  Life doesn’t always go the way we want it; we have fallings out with our friends, sometimes we fail exams, family members get sick and die, families even fall apart due to divorce.  All of these things affect us differently, but for most of us when bad things happen to us, we feel bad, angry and sad.  Sometimes we even feel like it’s our fault.

emoticons-sad

We can’t keep bad things from happening to and around us but we can take comfort in God’s promise in Deuteronomy 31:6

“Be strong. Take courage. Don’t be intimidated. Don’t give them a second thought because God, your God, is striding ahead of you. He’s right there with you. He won’t let you down; he won’t leave you.”

I don’t know about you, but that makes me feel pretty good about everything.  When bad stuff happens I know it won’t last for ever and I know God is with me so I needn’t be afraid, or scared.  Instead it gives me a confidence to go through life.  God’s got me.
father-baby

Think About This

Is there anything tough that you’re dealing with now?  Why don’t you tell God about it and rely on His promise to see you through.

john-14-18

Prayer

Dear Lord,

I’m so glad that You will always be there for me. Please help me to remember that at all times; especially when things get rough.  In Jesus name I pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

